2020 Club Racing

Click on the blue bar below for the up to date racing calendar.

To access the most current COVID19 Racing Protocols

Please note that races are also recorded as part of the Club Events calendar, accessible under the Calendars menu above.

Latest Race Details

Race Awards:


Other Events:

Featured Racing Events:



1. ‘K’ or Keener Series is in answer to the many requests for more, and more varied, racing opportunities. Each will be scored, and the scores accumulated, over the year.
2. (P) or (S) means leave to Port (P) or leave to Starboard (S)
3. Wednesday Night Series will be designed to finish between 19:30 and 20:00.
4. Re-runs of uncompleted Series A, B, and C races will take place the next available week. While the objective will be to complete all the races on the schedule; Series A, B, and C races will take precedence.
5. The start time for ‘K’ races beginning at Second Sister will be determined at the Skipper’s Meeting
6. All Skipper’s meetings for Sunday races will be 10:00 EXCEPT March 3 and October 13th
7. Skipper meetings for Wednesday Night Summer Series races will be 16:30

Fleet Captain Racing Greg Taylor welcomes everyone to the 2020 racing season, an exciting combination of new and old races. Questions? Want to be on the racers’ email list and receive all race information and results?  Feel free to email Greg at racing@saltspringsailing.ca. If you have questions about the new handicapping system in place for 2020, see the Just Ask Greg article here. Hope to see you out on the course!

2020 Races

Race NameSeasonSeriesDateDay1st Place2nd Place3rd Place
New Year's Hot Rum RaceWinterNo SeriesJanuary 1, 2021FriRadiant Heat
Jack LangdonWinterSeries AJanuary 10, 2021Sun
PocoSkeena CloudSorcery X
Ups and DownsWinterSeries KJanuary 24, 2021SunRadiant HeatOasisSoul Thyme
Groundhog DayWinterSeries AJanuary 31, 2021SunPocoSkeena CloudSorcery X
Loopy KWinterSeries KFebruary 7, 2021SunOasisSorcery XRadiant Heat
McMillan TrophyWinterSeries AFebruary 21, 2021SunOasisRadiant HeatSkeena Cloud
Shake off DoldrumsWinterSeries KMarch 7, 2021SunSoul ThymePocoEvangeline
Walker RockWinterSeries AMarch 21, 2021SunEvangelineOasisKay D
Round PrevostSpringSeries AApril 11, 2021SunPturbodactylSoul ThymeOasis
Southern StraitsSpringApril 3-4, 2021Sat/Sun
Patos IslandSpringApril 10-11, 2021Sat/Sun
Impromptu K RaceSpringSeries KApril 18, 2021SunRadiant HeatSkeena CloudEvangeline
Montague Race/CruiseSpringSeries KApril 24-25, 2021Sat/Sun
Thetis Island RegattaSpringMay 8-9, 2021Sat/Sun
Captain's PassageSpringSeries AMay 2, 2021SunBattle AxeSkeena CloudStar Gazer
Round SaltspringSpringSeries BMay 22-23Sat/SunBattle Axe
Race in the SisterhoodSpringSeries KJune 13, 2021SunPocoSkeena CloudOasis
Pursuit RaceSpring?? (replacing Portland-Moresby)June 20, 2021SunOasisPturbodactylShingebiss
Series June Wed. Night SpringSeries BJune, 2021Wed23rd Sorcery X23rd Pturbodactyl23rd Shingebiss
Series July Wed. NightJuly, 2021Wed7th Pturbodactyl, 14th Pturbodactyl, 21st Shingebiss, 28th Sorcery X7th Kay D, 14th Evangeline, 21st Kay D, 28th Papillon7th Rampart, 14th Rampart, 21st Radiant Heat, 28th Shingebiss
Wanna Be a Wise GuyJuly 4, 2021SunRadiant HeatOasisShingebiss
Portland-MoresbySeries BJuly 25, 2021SunPturbocactylRadiant HeatShingebiss
SNSYC/SISC Regatta (at SNSYC)Series KJuly 31/Aug 1, 2021Sat/Sun
Pursuit RaceAug. 8, 2021SunPturbodactylPocoShingebiss
Bedwell Harbour Race/CruiseAug. 21-22, 2021Sat/SunSkeena CloudShingebissOasis
Series Aug. Wed. NightAug, 2021Sun4th Radiant Heat, 11th Skeena Cloud, 18th Skeena Cloud, 25th Evangeline4th Poco, 11th Rampart, 18th Pturbodactyl, 25th Radiant Heat4th Lil Foot, 11th Firefly, 18th Pocoloco, 25th Pocoloco
Last Wednesday Night RaceSept. 1, 2021WedPocoLocoImpThing One
SNSYC/SISC Regatta (at SISC)Series ?Sept. 18-19, 2021Sat/SunPocoLoco
Round PendersSeries ?Sept. 25-26, 2021Sat/SunSorcery XOasisRadiant Heat
Channel IslandsFallSeries COctober 17, 2021 SunRadiant HeatShingebissOasis
Bas CobanliFallSeries ?October 31, 2021SunShingebissOasisRadiant Heat
Long HarbourFallSeries ?November 7, 2021SunOasisEvangelineShingebiss
Ben MohrFallSeries CNovember 28, 2021SunOasisFireflyEvangeline
Snowflake #1FallNo seriesDecember 5, 2021SunRadiant HeatSorcery XShingebiss
Snowflake #2FallNo seriesDecember 19, 2021SunSkeena CloudFireflySorcery X

2020 Race Details

Race Contacts

Racing Committee

Greg Taylor (Fleet Captain Racing)
Douglas Woolcock (Handicapper/Scorekeeper)
Eric van Soeren

Racing Volunteers

IOM Representative: Martin Herbert
Trophies: Lawrie Neish
Website: Wendy Vine
Women’s Racing: Heather Sloat

Round Saltspring Race

Chair: John Walker
Food Service: Gillian Taylor
Race Officer/Registrar: Richard Ballantyne
Shoreside Facilities: Chris Cheeseman
Communications: Silk Questo & Ryan Preddy
Merchandising: Cheryl Gadsby & Jody Hawley
Sponsorships/Prizes: Chris Gadsby & Jeremy Milsom
Docks: Bo Curtis

Race Archives

Follow the links below to review past racing activity:

Start typing and press Enter to search